JoAnn Stromberg Student Leader Scholarship

The $3000 JoAnn Stromberg Student Leadership Scholarship, given in honor of the nearly 30 years of service dedicated by former Executive Administrator, JoAnn Stromberg, was established following her retirement in 2015. The purpose of this scholarship is to encourage students to take on more leadership opportunities and strengthen the connection between students and the electronics industry.

The Stromberg Scholarship is awarded annually to a full-time student pursuing a degree in electronics and actively involved in the SMTA. The scholarship is intended for the purchase of technical books and research materials, for participation in conferences related to electronics assembly and packaging, and for living expenses if necessary.

The nomination deadline has passed. The form will be available early next year. In the meantime, you can view the eligibility criteria here.

View the list of current scholarship donors.

2018 Scholarship Winner Announced

The 2018 recipient, Debbie Hagen, has been selected by the SMTA Awards Committee for her committed leadership in the SMTA.

2018 Stromberg Scholarship recipient Debbie Hagen from Lorain County Community College

Debbie is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering at University of Texas, Austin. Her current career focus is teaching at the university level. She publicizes the quarterly symposia at UT Engineering and actively promotes student awareness to professions in the electronics industry. She is a champion of Students and Young Professionals not only in the SMT fields, but in the SMTA. She is serving as the Assistant VP of Technical Programs for the Central Texas (Austin) Chapter, and has been a member of SMTA for 3 years. She is an active recruiter of speakers for the SMTA programs, and has attended every annual expo for the last 4 years. In addition to the SMTA, Debbie also belongs and is active in such societies as the WME (Women in Mechanical Engineering), the SWE (Society of Women Engineers), and the ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers. With 9 Publications, 5 Patents, and 4 degrees already under her belt; we are honored to present Debbie Hagen as the 2018 JoAnn Stromberg Scholarship Recipient.

The award is presented at the SMTA Annual Meeting during the SMTA International Conference in Rosemont, IL.

Past Recipients

2016 Stromberg Scholarship recipient Vahid Hadavi from Ryerson University
Vahid Hadavi, Ryerson University
Where is he now? Continuing his graduate studies

Martin Anselm, Ph.D., Rochester Institute of Technology
Bob Baker, CTEA Austin Chapter
Richard Henrick, Sanmina Corporation
Glen Herzog, SMTA Houston Chapter
Robert Kinyanjui, Ph.D., John Deere Electronic Solutions
Scott Priore, Cisco Systems, Inc.
Rick Prekup, ionDesign, Inc. and CTEA Austin Chapter
Gary Tanel, Libra Industries and SMTA Dallas Chapter
SMTA Headquarters
6600 City West Parkway, Suite 300
Eden Prairie, MN 55344 USA

Phone +1 952.920.7682
Fax +1 952.926.1819