Chapter News  |  Calendar  |  Chapter Officers  |  Corporate Members
Expos  |  Job Resources  |  Educational Grant  |  Students Only

Chapter News

A Novel Electroless Nickel Immersion Gold Finish for Better Reliability

Date: Wednesday October 25th, 2017
Time: 4:30PM-6:30PM
Venue: Axiom Electronics
Address: 19545 NW Von Neumann Drive, Beaverton, OR 97006
Conventional Electroless Nickel/Immersion Gold (ENIG) currently available in the market is prone to black-pad defects (hyper-corrosion related failures) associated with de-wetting of solder. ENIG also suffers from brittle solder joint failures. Due to these reasons, there are field failures and reliability concerns of electronic assemblies - component disconnection which lead to overall malfunction of electronic assemblies. Moreover, most ENIG manufacturers/suppliers provide cyanide-based gold chemistry which has health and ecological hazards. The novel ENIG eliminates black pads- corrosion related issues, achieves robust solder joints and provides improved quality and reliability of electronic assembly. Also, it uses cyanide-free chemistry for immersion gold process making it eco-friendly. This allows manufacturers to consume eco-friendly product while avoiding major field failures and resulting consequences.
Novel ENIG eliminates black-pad related failures and lead to robust, high quality and reliable solder joints for electronic assemblies. The root cause of black-pad defects has been identified as hyper corrosion activity at gold and nickel-phosphorous interface which involves nickel depletion and an enrichment of phosphorous in localized areas. Interfacial engineering approach had been used to successfully eliminate black pads by achieving marked improvement in corrosion resistance. Corrosion tests have been conducted using Potentiodynamic Polarization method and Tafel plots were generated between novel ENIG and conventional ENIG. The results show 10x improvement in corrosion resistance for novel ENIG. Interfacial engineering has also led to improved intermetallics at the solder joints leading to robust solder joints and elimination of brittle failures. Ball Shear and Ball Pull Tests (Industry Standard based testing: JEDEC Standard) were conducted on novel ENIG based solder joints and conventional ENIG based solder joints.
No solder joints (intermetallics) failures found with novel ENIG compared to 80% of failures found at solder joints with conventional ENIG. Also, the force to induce failure increased by more than 48% with novel ENIG compared to conventional ENIG. A novel ENIG is eco-friendly and cost-effective with high corrosion resistance and robust solder joints for better reliability of electronic assemblies.
Kunal Shah, PhD. is a founder & Chief Scientist at LiloTree. Dr. Shah leads efforts of advanced engineered materials development and product improvement solutions at LiloTree for numerous customers in various industries including aviation-aerospace, medical electronics, semiconductors, etc. He is a principal scientist in development of proprietary innovative novel ENIG chemistry at LiloTree. LiloTree recently received National Science Foundation (NSF) Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) grant awards (Phase I & II) to develop and commercialize proprietary novel ENIG.
Previously, Dr. Shah worked as a Sr. Research Scientist at Intel Corporation & Pacific Northwest National
Lab (PNNL). At Intel, he was a key member in developing polymer interlayer, dielectric and passivation material that led to the design, adoption & integration of polymer passivation materials in Intel IC products in 2008. He has authored several scientific papers and issued/pending patents over a decade.

Follow us on Twitter and Join our Facebook Page!


Chapter Calendar of Events
Date / Time Event Location Phone Contact/Email
January 18, 2017
4:30 pm
Understanding PCB Design & Material Warpage Challenges BiAmp 503-696-1542   Pedro J Martinez 
February 27, 2017
04:30 pm
Improve SMT Assembly Yields Using Root Cause Analysis in Stencil Design Axiom Electronics, LLC 503-696-4072   Pedro J Martinez 
March 22, 2017
4:30 pm
Low Temperature Solders; Processing and Reliability Axiom 5036961542   Pedro J Martinez 
April 19, 2017
08:30 am
Chapter Training Day : Defect Analysis & Process Trouble Shooting Axiom 5036961542   Pedro J Martinez 
June 1, 2017
06:00 pm
Microelectronic Systems for Improved Quality of Life PCC Willow Creek Center, Room 311 5036961542   Pedro J Martinez 
August 15, 2017
08:30 am
SMT Processes Certification Course TBD 952-920-7682   Jenny Ng 
October 25, 2017
A Novel Electroless Nickel/Immersion Gold (ENIG) Finish for Better Reliability Axiom Electronics 5036961542   Pedro Martinez 

Back to Top

Our Chapter Leaders

President : Alexander Schreiner  (Newson USA LLC)
Phone : 503-758-6491

Vice President : Pedro J. Martinez  (Intel Corporation)
Phone : 503-696-1542

Treasurer : Daniel J. Yantz  (Milwaukee Electronics)
Phone : 503-263-7301

VP of Technical Programs : Charles E. Bauer Ph.D.  (TechLead Corporation)
Phone : 303-674-8202

VP of Membership : James L Mills  (Vanguard EMS)
Phone : 503-672-4303

Events Coordinator (Appointed) : Ruth A Conner  (RAD Services)
Phone : 503-819-4895

Social Media Development (Appointed) : Michael David Brinkley  (Axiom Electronics LLC)
Phone : 509-240-4615

Chapter Advisor (Appointed) : David A. Larson  (TEK Products)
Phone : 541-514-5875

Newsletter Editor (Appointed) : Ayman Fayed  (Intel Corporation)
Phone : 503-750-7740

CTP Committee (Appointed) : Scott K. Buttars  
Phone : 503-314-5478

Board Liaison : William Capen (DRS Technologies)
Phone Contact : 814-534-8451

Back to Top

Global Participating Members of our Chapter

Micro Systems Engineering, Inc.

Micro Systems Technologies, Inc.

Corporate Members of our Chapter

Ascentec Engineering

Ascentron, Inc

Axiom Electronics LLC



Dorigo Systems Ltd.


Garmin AT, Inc.

Hi-Tek Electronics

Intel Corporation

Micro Systems Engineering, Inc.

Pentagon EMS Corporation

Quality Production Ltd.

Reliable Controls Corporation

Surtek Industries Inc.

Tektronix, Inc.

VersaLogic Corporation

SMTA Global Members

Amazon Celestica Inc. Cisco Systems, Inc. Creation Technologies Inc. FCA Group Harris Corporation Henkel Electronic Materials LLC HISCO, Inc. IDENTCO ITW EAE Jabil Circuit Sdn. Bhd. Keysight Technologies KYZEN Sdn. Bhd. Metallic Resources, Inc. Micro Systems Technologies Management AG NCAB Group USA NEO Technology Solutions Plexus Corp. Samtec Microelectronics SMAC Specialty Coating Systems Vexos ZESTRON Americas

Back to Top
SMTA Headquarters
6600 City West Parkway, Suite 300
Eden Prairie, MN 55344 USA

Phone 952.920.7682
Fax 952.926.1819