Past Award Recipients

Founder's Award

2016:    Gary Tanel, Libra Industries
2015:    Ning-Cheng Lee, Ph.D., Indium Corporation
2014:    Marie Cole, IBM Corporation
2013:    Chuck Richardson, iNEMI
2012:    Vern Solberg, STC Madison
2011:    Dr. Laura Turbini, Research in Motion
2010:    Rod Howell, Libra Industries
2009:    Ken Gilleo, ET-Trends LLC
2008:    Dr. Paul Vianco, Sandia National Laboratories
2007:    Jeff Kennedy, Celestica Inc.
2006:    Rich Freiberger, ZF Array Technology
2005:    Greg Evans, Indium Corporation
2004:    Sammy Yi, Flextronics
2003:    Dr. Ron Lasky, Dartmouth University / Indium Corporation
2002:    Tom Borkes, The Jefferson Project
2001:    Dr. Jennie Hwang, H-Technologies Group
2000:    Phil Zarrow, ITM
1999:    Rob Rowland, RadiSys Corporation
1998:    Norb Socolowski, Alpha Metals
1997:    Dr. Charles Hutchins (posthumously)
1996:    Jim Blankenhorn, SMT Plus
1995:    Vern Solberg, Tessera
1994:    Mike Brisky (posthumously)

Excellence in Leadership Award

2016:    Bob Baker, CTEA Chapter
2015:    Michael Jansen, Textron Systems
2014:    Dave Larson, TEK Products, Inc.
2013:    Don Mayse, Schlumberger
2012:    Frances Stewart, UP Media Group
            Jack Reinke, Kyzen Corporation
2011:    Eileen Hibbler, Stanley Supply & Services
2010:    Scott Buttars, Intel Corporation
2009:    Kathy Palumbo, Production Analysis & Learning Services LLC
2008:    Dale Lee, Plexus Corp.
2007:    Michelle Ogihara, Seika Machinery, Inc.
2006:    Tom O'Connor, T & M Sales
2005:    Michael Jansen, Lucent Technologies
            Gary Tanel, Allegiance Capital Corporation
2004:    Randy Cherry, Tellabs
2003:    Jim Kuehn, Tyco Electronics Automation Group
            Jeff Kennedy, Celestica Inc.
2002:    Rich Freiberger, ZF Array Technology
            Dr. Shen Li Fu, I-Shou University
2001:    Ron Boyce, Tektronix (retired)
            Glenda Pinckney, Group Technologies
            Ed Hale, AMT
2000:    Dick Russell, Micromeritics
1999:    Barry Goukler, Metal Etching Technology
1998:    Riki Brown, Golden West
1997:    Tom Borkes, The Jefferson Project
1996:    Bruce Inpyn, Pitney-Bowes
1995:    Chuck Richardson, Intergraph
1994:    Martin Barton, Preferred Designs
1994:    John Biancini
            Charles Hutchins, C. Hutchins and Associates
            Gene Wolfe, Texas Instruments
            Mike Zurn, Phoenix International

International Leadership Award

2016:    Jason Keeping, Celestica
2015:    David Vetharudge, Listech Technology Sdn Bhd
2014:    KL Lim, Plexus Manufacturing Sdn. Bhd.
2013:    Sören Nörlyng, MICRONSULT
2011:    Bill Barthel, Plexus Corp.
2010:    Abby Tsoi, Kasion Automation
2009:    Michael Wong, Emerson
2008:    Bob Willis,
2007:    Richard Short, Indium Corporation
2006:    Dr. Charles E. Bauer, TechLead Corporation
2004:    Abby Tsoi, Kasion Automation

Member of Technical Distinction Award

2016:    Viswam Puligandla, Ph.D., Nokia (Retired)
2015:    Don Banks, St. Jude Medical
2014:    Diganta Das, Ph.D., University of Maryland, CALCE
            Cheryl Tulkoff, DfR Solutions
2013:    Mike Bixenman, Kyzen Corporation
            Dr. Pradeep Lall, Auburn University
2012:    Chrys Shea, Shea Engineering Services
            Dr. Polina Snugovsky, Celestica Inc.
2011:    Dr. Srinivas Chada, Power-One Renewable Energy Solutions
2010:    Rob Rowland, RadiSys Corporation
2009:    Raiyo Aspandiar, Intel Corporation
2008:    Dr. Bev Christian, Research In Motion
            David Hillman, Rockwell Collins
2007:    Andrew Mawer, Freescale Semiconductor
            Dr. Krishnaswami Srihari, Binghamton University
2006:    Kim Hyland, Flextronics
2005:    Ron Daniels, Circuitnet and ITM Consulting (Posthumously)
2004:    Jeff Forster, Universal Instruments
2003:    Lisa Hamburg, UPMedia Group
            Dr. Jean-Paul Clech, EPSI
2002:    Dr. Ning Cheng Lee, Indium Corporation
            Marie Cole, IBM Corporation
2001:    Gerry Adams, Dade Behring
            Dr. Reza Ghaffarian, JPL
2000:    Dave Gibson, Solectron Corporation
            Paul Truit, RBB Systems
1999:    Mike Buseman, MSL
1998:    Ray Prasad, Prasad Consultancy
1997:    Jack Crawford, IPC
1996:    Ralph Woodgate, Woodcorp
            Steve Benson, MSL
            Don Keller, KDF Company
1995:    Phil Zarrow, ITM
1994:    Mitch Killmon (posthumously)

SMTA+ Corporate Award

2016:    Nordson Corporation
2015:    Alpha
2014:    Indium Corporation
2013:    STI Electronics, Inc.
2012:    Kyzen Corporation
2011:    Research in Motion
2010:    Indium Corporation
2009:    Cisco Systems
2008:    Circuits Assembly Magazine
2007:    Celestica Inc.
2006:    Flextronics
2005:    ITM Consulting
2004:    Kester
2003:    3M Corporation
2002:    Solectron Corporation
2001:    Agilent Technologies
2000:    Celestica Inc.
1999:    Zevatech Corporation
1998:    Indium Corporation
1997:    Circuits Assembly Magazine
1996:    Enthone-OMI
1995:    Unisys Corporation, Midwest Operations

Chapter of the Year Award

Recognizes an SMTA chapter that has shown exemplary commitment to our objective... "Sharing the Knowledge." The overall rating of each chapter is measured in the following areas: membership growth, regular meeting scheduling, timely reporting and communication, creative and informative technical programming, special projects, contributions and volunteer service on SMTA committees. (This award is not based on a nomination.)

2016:    Atlanta Chapter
2015:    Oregon Chapter
2014:    Oregon Chapter
2013:    Oregon Chapter
2012:    Oregon Chapter
2011:    Dallas Chapter
2010:    LA/Orange Chapter
2009:    LA/Orange, Oregon, Space Coast, and Penang Chapters
2008:    Oregon Chapter
2007:    LA/Orange Chapter
2006:    Portland Chapter
2005:    Portland Chapter
2004:    Portland Chapter
2003:    LA/Orange Chapter
2002:    Portland Chapter
2001:    LA/Orange Chapter
2000:    Atlanta Chapter
1999:    LA/Orange Chapter
1998:    LA/Orange and Atlanta Chapters
1997:    Upper Midwest Chapter

SMTA Headquarters
6600 City West Parkway, Suite 300
Eden Prairie, MN 55344 USA

Phone 952.920.7682
Fax 952.926.1819