Contact Us

There are two types of associations in the world: staff-driven and volunteer-driven. The SMTA is volunteer-driven and relies on its members for the dynamic leadership which is so important to association activities, including chapter events, educational programs, expos, certification, and strategic planning.

Listed below are volunteers including:

  • Board of Directors - Officers
  • Board of Directors - Planning Committee
  • Committees Chairs
  • Contact info for the SMTA staff is available at the bottom of this page.

  • If you would like to receive news announcements, submit your contact information to the general mail list.
  • If you are interested in joining the SMTA, go to the Membership Application.
  • Also read about opportunities to volunteer on SMTA committees.


    BOARD OF DIRECTORS - OFFICERS
    Bill Barthel Bill Barthel (2012-14)
    President

    Plexus Corp.
    One Plexus Way
    P.O. Box 156
    Neenah, WI 54957-0156
    Phone: 920-540-2653
    Email: bill.barthel@plexus.com

    Raiyomand Aspandiar Raiyomand Aspandiar, Ph.D. (2011-14)
    VP Technical Programs

    Intel Corporation
    5200 NE Elam Young Pkwy.
    MS HF1-55
    Hillsboro, OR 97124
    Phone: 503-696-2627
    Email: raiyo.f.aspandiar@intel.com

    Randy Schueller Randy Schueller, Ph.D. (2012-15)
    Treasurer

    DfR Solutions
    2309 Newton Avenue S.
    Minneapolis, MN 55405
    Phone: 512-658-6318
    Email: rschueller@dfrsolutions.com

    Scott Nelson Scott Nelson (2012-15)
    Secretary

    Harris Corporation
    426 Park Avenue
    Sebastian, FL 32958
    Phone: 321-223-2855
    Email: jnelso09@harris.com

    Roy Starks Roy Starks (2008-15)
    VP Membership

    Libra Industries, Inc.
    7770 Division Drive
    Mentor, OH 44060
    Phone: 440-974-7770 ext. 315
    Email: rstarks@libraind.com

    Michelle Ogihara Michelle Ogihara (2010-16)
    VP Communications

    Seika Machinery, Inc.
    3528 Torrance Blvd
    Suite 100
    Torrance, CA 90503
    Phone: 310-540-7310, ext.120
    Email: michelle@seikausa.com

    Hal Hendrickson Hal Hendrickson (2008-14)
    VP Expos

    Nordson DAGE
    3335 White Oak Court
    Morgan Hill, CA 95037
    Phone: 510-683-3930
    Email: hal.h@nordsondage.com



    BOARD OF DIRECTORS - PLANNING COMMITTEE

    Jeff Kennedy Jeff Kennedy (2009-15)
    Chairperson

    Celestica Inc.
    2800 Hilldale Ave.
    St. Anthony, MN 55418
    Phone: 612-902-6259
    Email: kennedj@celestica.com

    Martin Anselm, Ph.D. Martin Anselm, Ph.D. (2013-16)
    Universal Instruments Corporation
    33 Brome Corporate Pkwy.
    Conklin, NY 13748
    Phone: 607-779-5077
    Email: anselm@uic.com

    Matt Kelly, P.Eng, MBA Matt Kelly, P.Eng, MBA (2013-16)
    IBM Corporation
    3600 Steeles Ave, F3/416
    Markham, ON L3R 9Z7, Canada
    Phone: 905-316-5242
    Email: mattk@ca.ibm.com

    Scott Priore Scott Priore (2011-14)
    Cisco Systems Inc.
    5444 Greenside Drive
    San Jose, CA 95127
    Phone: 408-527-1814
    Email: spriore@cisco.com

    Brian Toleno Brian Toleno, Ph.D. (2010-16)
    Henkel Corporation
    14000 Jamboree Road
    Irvine, CA 92606
    Phone: 714-368-8510
    Email: brian.toleno@us.henkel.com


    PAST PRESIDENTS

    Dan Baldwin Dan Baldwin, Ph.D. (2008-12)
    Engent, Inc.
    3140 Northwoods Pkwy.
    Suite 300A
    Norcross, GA 30071-1535
    Phone: 678-990-3320 ext. 222
    Email: dan.baldwin@engentaat.com

    David Raby David Raby (2004-2008)
    STI Electronics, Inc.
    102 Tribble Drive
    Madison, AL 35758-1794
    Phone: 256-705-5502
    draby@stielectronicsinc.com

    Rod Howell Rod Howell (2000-2004)
    Libra Industries, Inc.
    7770 Division Drive
    Mentor, OH 44060
    440-974-7770
    rhowell@libraind.com

    Greg Evans Greg Evans (1996-2000)
    Indium Corporation
    PO Box 269
    Utica, NY 13503-0269
    315-853-4900
    gevans@indium.com

    Jennie Hwang Jennie Hwang, Ph.D. (1993-1994)
    H-Technologies Group, Inc.
    26001 Miles Road, Suite 1
    Cleveland, OH 44128
    216-839-1000
    jslhwang@aol.com

    Bruce Inpyn Bruce Inpyn (1992-1993, 1994-1996)
    361 New Harwinton Road
    Torrington, CT 06790
    860-496-8412
    revbruce@tcaonline.org

    Charles Hutchins Charles Hutchins, Ph.D. (1990-1992)
    Deceased





    Jim Walker Jim Walker (1989-1990)
    Dataquest/Gartner Group
    723 E. Draper View Road
    Draper, UT 84020
    801-577-4645
    jim.walker@gartner.com

    Martin Barton Martin Barton (1987-1989)
    Preferred Designs
    1416 Glastonbury Drive
    Plano, TX 75075
    972-424-8805

    James K. Hollomon James Hollomon (1986-1987)
    ET Productions
    160 E. Berkeley Street #312
    Boston, MA 02118
    etpro@etproductions.com


    Norb Socolowski Norb Socolowski (1985-1986)
    Deceased




    COMMITTEE CHAIRS
    View committee descriptions (pdf)
    Awards
    Dan Baldwin, Ph.D., Engent, Inc.
    Phone: 678-990-3320 ext. 222
    Email: dan.baldwin@engentaat.com
    Board Liaison: Bill Barthel

    Bookstore Review
    Jean-Paul Clech, Ph.D., EPSI, Inc.
    Phone: 973-746-3796
    Email: jpclech@aol.com

    Certification
    Jasbir Bath, Bath & Associates Consultancy LLC
    Phone: 510-676-5629
    Email: jasbir_bath@yahoo.com
    Board Liaison: Martin Anselm

    Chapter Leadership
    Roy Starks, Libra Industries, Inc.
    Phone: 440-974-7770 ext. 315
    Email: rstarks@libraind.com

    Hutchins Educational Grant
    Laura Turbini, Ph.D., International Reliability Consultant
    Phone: 519-886-9076
    Email: ljturbini@sympatico.ca
    Board Liaison: Matt Kelly

    International
    Scott Priore
    Cisco Systems, Inc.
    Phone: 408-527-1814
    Email: spriore@cisco.com

    Internet
    Steve Greathouse
    Plexus Corporation
    Phone: 208-898-1274
    Email: steve.greathouse@plexus.com
    Board Liaison: Randy Schueller

    Journal Review
    Srinivas Chada, Ph.D., Schlumberger
    Phone: 602-541-4406
    Email: drschada@hotmail.com
    Board Liaison: Scott Priore

    Marcom
    Michelle Ogihara, Seika Machinery, Inc.
    Phone: 310-540-7310, ext. 120
    Email: michelle@seikausa.com

    Membership
    Roy Starks, Libra Industries, Inc.
    Phone: 440-974-7770 ext. 315
    Email: rstarks@libraind.com

    Moisture Sensitive Devices (Council)
    Mumtaz Bora, Peregrine Semiconductor
    Phone: 858-882-1967
    Email: mumtazbora@gmail.com

    Michelle Ogihara, Seika Machinery, Inc.
    Phone: 310-540-7310, ext. 120
    Email: michelle@seikausa.com

    Nominating
    Jeff Kennedy, Celestica Inc.
    Phone: 612-902-6259
    Email: kennedj@celestica.com

    Planning
    Jeff Kennedy, Celestica Inc.
    Phone: 612-902-6259
    Email: kennedj@celestica.com

    SMTA International Conference
    Rob Rowland, Axiom Electronics
    Phone: 503-350-4959
    Email: robr@axiomsmt.com

    SMTA International Exhibits
    Hal Hendrickson, Nordson DAGE
    Phone: 510-683-3930
    Email: hal.h@nordsondage.com

    Technical
    Raiyomand Aspandiar, Ph.D., Intel Corporation
    Phone: 503-696-2627
    Email: raiyo.f.aspandiar@intel.com

    Testability
    Louis Ungar, A.T.E. (Advanced Test Engineering) Solutions, Inc.
    Phone: 310-822-5231
    Email: LouisUngar@ieee.org
    Board Liaison: Martin Anselm

    Training
    Martin Anselm, Ph.D., Universal Instruments Corporation
    Phone: 607-779-5077
    Email: anselm@uic.com


    SMTA HEADQUARTERS STAFF

    JoAnn Stromberg JoAnn Stromberg
    Executive Administrator
    Email: joann@smta.org



    Tanya Martin Tanya Martin
    Director of Operations
    Email: tanya@smta.org



    Ryan Flaherty Ryan Flaherty
    Director of Communications
    Email: ryan@smta.org



    Emily Ross Emmy Ross
    Director of Exhibitions
    Email: emmy@smta.org



    Patti Coles Patti Coles (Hvidhyld)
    Director of Education
    Email: patti@smta.org



    Erin Murray Erin Murray
    Administrative Assistant
    Email: erin@smta.org



    Karen Frericks Karen Frericks
    Director of Chapter Relations
    Email: karenchapters@smta.org



    Krissy Ohnstad Krissy Ohnstad
    Director of Membership
    Email: krissy@smta.org



    Joel Eaton Joel Eaton
    Event Assistant
    Email: joel@smta.org